Image: Tom Roster

The Mississippi Arts Commission is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Governor’s Arts Awards, including Fondren’s own James Patterson.

Established in 1988, Governor’s Arts Awards are given to individuals and organizations to recognize outstanding work in the artistic disciplines as well as arts-based community development and arts patronage in Mississippi. The awards are presented in partnership with the Governor’s Office and signify the important relationship between government and the arts.

The 2019 recipients and awards are as follows:

London Branch – Excellence in Music and Education

The Canton Spirituals – Lifetime Achievement Award

Ruth Miller – Excellence in Visual Art

New Stage Theatre – Excellence in Theatre

James Patterson – Excellence in Photography and Community Support

Hartley and Mary Peavey – Governor’s Choice Award

Julia Reed – Cultural Ambassador

The 2019 recipients will be recognized at the 31st Governor’s Arts Awards ceremony at the Old Capitol Museum in downtown Jackson on Thursday, Feb. 7, 2019, at 6 p.m. A public reception at 4:30 p.m. will precede the ceremony.

“These seven recipients embody excellence in their respective fields and deserve the highest honor for their achievements,” said Malcolm White, executive director of the Mississippi Arts Commission. “We are looking forward to recognizing this talented group in February with another entertaining and inspiring edition of the Governor’s Arts Awards, which is now in its 31st year.”

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page